The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 01-07-2017, 11:05 PM

Default Hollow-body guitars recommendations

I'm a real newbie when it comes to electrics, though I've been playing acoustics for decades. My current electric is a beautiful 1975 Ibenez Les Paul knockoff, (I believe pre-lawsuit) which I bought in '76 and just recently started playing again. I just got turned on to what Trey at Phish uses, which is a custom Languedoc. Seems totally fabulous, except for the price $10k or more.

I want a true hollow body guitar with a short scale, and a smaller body would be nice too (I have small hands.) Could probably go up to $2K but that would be a stretch. Really like the idea of the switchable coil from dual to single.

Why hollow body? First, my Ibenez is heavy. I'm hoping that a hollow body will weigh less. Tell me that this is so, please! Second, I really want a bit of acoustic sound coming from my guitar since pure electric starts to wear on me after a while. For playability, must be short scale.

Ideas? What are you playing? Thanks.
Old 01-07-2017, 11:09 PM

I bought my first electric in the mid 60's and have owned many since including some high end collectibles.

Out of all of these, the best sounding and my all-time favorite electric is my 1960 Harmony Meteor w/Bigsby.

I've also played this 1959 Meteor at Gryphon and it is a stellar example. If I didn't already own my 1960, I would have bought this one for sure. Think FAT FAT FAT TONE!!!!

https://shop.gryphonstrings.com/prod...teor-h70-47783
Old 01-08-2017, 09:57 AM

If you're okay with floating pickups, at your budget, you should have no trouble finding a "vintage" Ibanez George Benson model. I have trouble calling something made after I was already gigging and had gone through 2 genres "vintage", but whatever One made in Japan. Nice small. And you'd be staying with the whole Ibanez thing .