The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 12-09-2013, 08:45 PM

Default Banjitar recommendation?

Howdey all,

I'm starting to get the hankering for a banjitar for a little variety in our set. I'm looking for a good value banjitar with a pickup that can project decently and plays well. Any brands that have a good reputation and hold their value well?

Thanks
Rob
1950s Martin Baritone Uke
A prototype of something you're likely to drool over.

9 yr old boy learning drums, 5 yr old girl who likes to groove with the beat, a music-loving toddler, 1 patient and amazing wife.
Old 12-09-2013, 10:25 PM

Gold Tone makes a couple of nice ones. I'm sure there are others but I have no experience with them. Stay away from the Rogue and other ultra-cheapies, though.

http://www.goldtone.com/products/w/c...ring-Banjitars

A couple of guitars
A Merida DG16 Classical Guitar
A couple of banjos
A Yueqin
A Mountain Dulcimer that I built
A Hammered Dulcimer that I'm currently building
And a fiddle that I built!

Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
Old 12-09-2013, 11:48 PM

I've owned a Deering B6 banjo-guitar for about fifteen years, and it's a superb instrument. Gold Tone does make some nice ones these days, though - they've improved since they first came out, mainly through the use of a compensated bridge. The first Gold Tone guitar-banjos just used standard banjo bridges slotted for six strings, and those created most of the problems that most guitar-banjos suffer from: poor intonation, poor tone, tuning instability.

Of the Gold Tone guitar-banjos I have played, the one that has impressed me the most has been the Gold Tone BT-2000, which has a 12 inch rim: