The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 01-27-2011, 09:47 AM

Default *The 'Taran' Guitar Tour - A Review!* (From Scotland)

Hi everyone,

I thought I would post-up a review of the Tour Guitar that is currently going round the UK from Rory Dowling of Taran Guitars of Edinburgh , Scotland.

Taran Guitars Website

I have been playing for 20 years or so and focus only on fingerstyle acoustic these days...lots of celtic, DADGAD, and jazz fingerstyle arrangements..

I have played several Taran guitars before...I visited Rory at his shop in Edinburgh once (about an hour from me) and had the chance to play three different models...They got me interested in what he is trying to do out there and I gladly went on the TOUR list...

Here is what Rory says about the tour on his website...with some pictures...

This is my Tirga Beag MK2 (Large OM size) in Indian Rosewood (from Sefan Sobell) and Italian Spruce, the neck is Old Growth Brazilian Mahogany with Old Growth Brazilian Rosewood head veneer and Ebony bridge and fret board. The scale is 25.4'/ 645mm with Gotoh 510s tuners and fitted with a Headway under saddle system.

And before the finish went on...

I went with Rory to the Celtic Connections festival in Glasgow as the guitar was being played that night By Matheu Watson on stage with the World-famous Indian musician Zakir Hussain...it was quite the most astounding musical experience...and the guitar sounded great!

I've passed along the Tour to the next chap...he looked excited and I am sure he will care for it well.

I put a new set of Elixir Nano Phosphor Bronze 12s on it and gave it a polish and it was all good as new!

First off I should give you a summary -

I can definitely say that I enjoyed playing it all week, it grew on me as all good instruments should...it revealed more of its capabilities as I adjusted my playing to suit its strengths...