The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 01-20-2011, 09:10 AM

Question Cost to be a luthier

I am new to this and am quit interested as I am a musician, love music, wood instruments and creating. I could see myself (as a hobbyist) dabbling in this and becoming quite passionate about it was well. I have a world renowned luthier 30 mins from my house (Sergie De Jonge) who provides guitar building classes which of course I would attend. However as a hobbyist I would like to know what is a ball park figure to maintain an adequate shop.

Thanks
Old 01-20-2011, 09:28 AM

You could buy a guitar kit for $350-500 (or more), including shipping. As a builder you should have a bandsaw, a thickness sander (or very nice planes), a way to bend wood, as well as various jigs to slot your fingerboards, rout slots for nut, saddle, etc. radiused dishes. a nice caliper. dozens of other little things, which all add up ... all this will be definitely pricey. if there is a temptation to, say, just get the cheap band saw, you will almost always be flirting with false economy.

if you build a kit, at the very least you will need a drill press, a router, hacksaw, chisels, lots of clamps, and a few other things. I probably put about $700 into my first guitar, total, but it was sinking money into the instrument and into tools that I will use forever. I borrowed a bunch of stuff to build that first one. I bought a few power tools. I made several jigs, which isn't hard to do. However it isn't easy to be exacting. So I'm actually remaking some things that I did last year. It's a process, not a goal or a single figure. but I so far have spent less on this hobby than my wife does on movie rentals. (I remind her of this often!) and with each commission I acquire new tools.

"adequate" is a relative term, and adequate this year may be different than "adequate" next year.