The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-30-2017, 04:01 PM

Default Open C tuning CGCGCE

I am a beginner (playing 10 years age 63). I use CGCGCE a lot. The chords I use a lot are x5000x x02020x and 5x002x (virtually always picking).
Does anyone use this tuning? Can anyone explain how you get the low C string to sound in tune when fretted 5th fret from the capo? If the tuner shows its in tune its way off when fretted. (guitar is a Lowden 010).
Old 01-30-2017, 05:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by woldsweather View Post
I am a beginner (playing 10 years age 63). I use CGCGCE a lot. The chords I use a lot are x5000x x02020x and 5x002x (virtually always picking).
Does anyone use this tuning? Can anyone explain how you get the low C string to sound in tune when fretted 5th fret from the capo? If the tuner shows its in tune its way off when fretted. (guitar is a Lowden 010).
You probably need a heavier gauge 6th. Or just use less fret pressure...
Old 01-30-2017, 05:42 PM
Charter Member

Capo? What fret?

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 01-31-2017, 03:10 AM

capo at 6th fret. Most songs previously have been capo 2 and 5. Theres always a problem with this string but talking to the professional who's songs I cover he says tuning it is a compromise. What I think he means is tune it flat so that when its fretted 5 frets from the capo it will be in tune. In the latest song |I am trying the capo is at 6 which makes the note fretted at 5 a B. Even when fretting at the 5th on the 6th string creates a spot on B according to the tuner my wife moans its out of tune and I have to agree it just sounds 'odd'.
Old 01-31-2017, 03:28 AM