The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-09-2017, 03:04 PM

Default Expanding neck width?

Okay, I've done a lot of guitar work before, but this one stumps me; I've got a Walden D550 that sounds great, but the 1-5/8 wide neck is just too thin for my big hands. The neck is a bolt-on, and I'd like to replace it with something wider. But!! Nobody makes a bolt-on wider neck.

I can get a wider fingerboard, so I was thinking that maybe I could widen the neck itself somehow, and fit such a fingerboard. Of course, I've never done this type of thing before, but I really like the sound of this guitar.

Any ideas?? Thanks!
Old 11-09-2017, 04:58 PM

With enough time and money, it can be done. The chance of someone not familiar with building and repairing being able to get it right on the first try is slim at best.

You could remove the FB, splice on some wood to widen the neck, glue the FB back on, reshape and refinish the neck. It would be easier to build a new neck from scratch.
et al
Old 11-09-2017, 05:45 PM

A friend of mine, a big fella, had this done to his guitar so I know it can be done. I have no idea how though!
Herrmann Weissenborn
Recording King RP-10
Recording King RG-35-SN Lapsteel
Maton 425 12-string
ESP 400 series telecaster
Eastman T485
Deering Americana Banjo
My Youtube
Old 11-09-2017, 10:30 PM

Do you want thicker front to back, or wider fingerboard?

Each can be done, but each has idiosyncrasies/challenges to deal with.

It may be possible to find a replacement neck, but this too has challenges.

I usually recommend if people don't like the guitar (neck, tone, playability, etc), just cash it in and get another different one more to one's liking.

Ned Milburn
NSDCC Master Artisan
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Old 11-10-2017, 12:32 AM