The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-05-2017, 06:14 AM

Default Thumb picks

Hi

I know this, as a preference, has been discussed but I have a specific question re using these picks.

I tried them recently and find I much prefer using them for tone and apparent ease of playing. However, I have found a little pain at ehe ball of my thumb since then and I'm not sure if its coincidence or the pick. I have had tendonitis in the past and obviously want to avoid a recurrence if possible.

Seems to me that the action of the thumb is quite different using a pick compared to nail/flesh picking.

Does anyone know if these picks can aggravate tendonitis etc?
Old 06-05-2017, 08:09 AM

First of all, I am no expert. I am an older person (65 years) and have had some hand issues in the past (trigger finger pinky right hand). When I got back into guitar about three years ago, I decided to focus on finger style with a thumb pick. The thumb motion with a pick, for me, is different from using just the thumb. With the pick, my thumb motion is more parallel to the strings. After the initial first two to three weeks, when I was getting used to it, I have never experienced a problem and I play 2-3 hours a day. In the beginning, I did have a few problems finding a pick that fit comfortably and I had to alter them. Other players may not have had this problem. I finally settled on the Fred Kelly Slick Pick. I use the orange which is their middle stiffness delron. I have normal size hands an thumb but their large size fits me comfortably without twirling around or choking my thumb. They also last forever. I have never worn one out. I only put on a new one when I lose the old one. Try a few more styles and makes of picks. Perhaps you can find one that helps with your issue.
Old 06-05-2017, 09:48 AM