The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-06-2017, 04:48 PM

Default How Do I Know Which One To Practice?

Ok, so again, I am a beginner. An absolute beginner. My question is......

I have books and DVDs that show the same chords, yet they use different fingers and frets. I see 2-3 different versions of the G chord, 2-3 different versions of the C chord, etc, etc.

So, how do I know which one is right, or at least which one I should be practicing?

I don't see any way that I can attach images or else I would do so. And forgive me for not understanding here.

r/Mike
Old 04-06-2017, 05:00 PM
Charter Member

Use the fingering that fits for the particular tune - e.g. prior chord, following chord, tempo. Fingerings to use are things that become more obvious when in context of the music, rather than just practicing isolated chords.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 04-06-2017, 05:10 PM

Short answer: All of them.

You will use them all as appropriate to the piece played, eventually, so don't feel like there's a conspiracy to make you stumble right out of the gate.

The G major chord I play with the middle, ring and little fingers mostly but will change that up to the index, middle and ring, or a full barre, depending on the piece played and what chord I'm moving from or going to. That will all sort itself out once the piece becomes familiar and the surrounding chords dictate the best way to hold that chord. So it goes for other chords.