The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-29-2017, 08:27 PM

Default Differences In Same Chord

First let me say I am an absolute beginner so this might seem like a dumb question. But........

I have a book/dvd that gives one version of the G chord and I am seeing YouTube videos that give a different G chord. The difference is significant too.

Why? How do I know which one is the correct G chord?

r/Mike
Old 03-29-2017, 08:34 PM

There are multiple ways to play a G chord but most common is 3rd fret 6th string, 2nd fret 5th string and 3rd fret 1st string. I play it with my 2nd 3rd and 4th fingers to leave my index finger free to noodle.
Old 03-29-2017, 08:34 PM

Default G whiz

Using the G chord as an example, it consists of three notes: G, D, and B. Those three notes are found in various places on the fingerboard and any time you play all three of them together, it is a G chord. Since you have six strings, you may have the opportunity too play more than one G note, more than one D or more than one B. Any combination of those three notes, 3 G's, 2 Ds, and one B for instance, is still a G chord.

Here's where it gets fun. You may notice that not all the possible G chords sound precisely the same, and by utilizing these differences creatively, you can create nuances that fit the music in different ways. Now you are an artist as well as a musician! So you use the G that works and sounds the best in the particular situation. Notice I used the word "works". You will quickly find that some of the possible G chords are harder to form than others. Some are easy, some come with work, some are functionally impossible and you job, should you choose to accept it, is to find one you can do that adds the most to your interpretation of the music.

Fay OM Sinker Redwood/Tiger Myrtle
Sexauer L00 Adk/Magnolia For Sale
Hatcher Jumbo Bearclaw/"Bacon" Padauk