The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 08-23-2015, 04:58 PM

Default New to acoustic amplification - looking for an affordable preamp

Hey everyone,
I'm new to the forum. I've browsed through the threads and soaked up as much information as I could. Lots of knowledgeable people here, maybe you could help me out.
I've played guitar casually for years, I'm a drummer really(I know, I've heard all the jokes) But my back goes out a lot from an injury and when it's out, no drumming for me, so I took up guitar. I'm not great, I'm alright at it, but have fun. I found a great deal on an Acoustic brand amp, but found out that when I got it home it didn't have the volume and clarity it did at my friend's with his guitsr. He has on-board active pickups, I have Dean Markley Pro Mag passive soundhole pickups. When I plugged it in I was so dissapointed at how I had to crank the volume on it just to get it louder than my guitar. Night and day compared to using it with active pickups.
So I went on the hunt for how I can boost the volume. I found out I need a preamp. OK, I get that, but I'm on a budget and this s just for fun jamming with friends.....keep that in mind for your suggestions. I don't make money playing, and don't want to spend more than the actual amp costs for a preamp.
So that led me here to look for good preamps, but you guys are much more serious than I am. While I would love to have the quality gear you guys recommend, I'm stuck with under $100 for the preamp.
If you guys could make suggestions or recommendations of a quality (less than $100) preamp that would be great! I know you get what you pay for, but again, that's what I have to spend.