The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 04-29-2017, 10:34 AM

Default Takamine G260 Pickup problem

I am a relative beginner, having started learning to play a guitar in my youth, but never really making much progress. It will take a while to get back into the swing of things, but since circumstances have led me to an early retirement, I have decided to spend some time playing guitar again. With this in mind I have been searching for a suitable low budget guitar but something a little better than the usual cheap student offerings.

I chanced upon a Takemine G260 with TP4T pre-amp and research suggested that, although aimed at beginner level and Chinese rather than the better Japanese made models, this was still a quality guitar, suitable for a begginer, and costing 230GPB (or $300 in the states). Yet, here it was being offered for 70GBP but with a note to say that the pre-amp and tuner were not working. Cosmetically it was in very good condition although some use was evident. The strings looked practically new. Research and electronics experience suggested that the issue more likely lay with either the jack socket or the pickup. The statement that the tuner was faulty made the purchase decision that much more difficult, but on the other hand if the problem was in the pickup, then might not that affect tuning as well? Even if it could only be used acoustically, it still seemed to represent a worthwhile purchase, so after some consideration, the purchase was made.