The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-21-2015, 09:07 PM

Default OM, Collings vs Martin vs Santa Cruz (x2)

Ok, I've narrowed it down to these three, largely, perhaps, because a local shop has stock of each

Santa Cruz OM Grand, Santa Cruz OM Pre War, Collings OM2H, and the joker in the pack is a Martin Custom Shop OM Cocobolo / Swiss Spruce

(here http://www.acousticcentre.com.au/col...o-swiss-spruce)

Now, I know you're just going to tell me to go play them all and choose the one I like the most, and I guess that's what I'm going to do, but I would really like to hear folk's take on these options, just so I have some more, I dunno, background or something

thanks!
Old 03-21-2015, 09:18 PM
Charter Member

I look forward to your results, especially the comparison of the two Santa Cruz OMs. I want to try the Grand ... would be interested to hear from folks who have played this .. what's the scoop with the Grand? Does it get closer to like a small jumbo, or something entirely different? I almost bought a standard OM last year, but resisted since I was waiting for a custom OM to be finished. It was a beaut! Lots of Colings around here which are usually fine guitars, but this SCGC OM, whihc was a standard cutaway blew them all away (quite a few at local Collings favored dealer). So now I'm intrigued with the OM Grand, and have too much dread.

martin D-28A '37 | D-18 | SCGC H13 | gibson SJ-200
taylor 814ce | 855 | GS Mini H.V. | goodall RP14 | Halcyon SJ

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Old 03-21-2015, 09:26 PM