The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 10-15-2016, 04:53 PM

Default Carvin Mfg quality?

In researching an amp purchase, I've come across a couple of folks saying that Carvin's manufacturing quality (as opposed to audio quality) is lousy. If accurate, that big negative would be compounded by their direct to consumer marketing setup (no dealers for repairs). Does anyone have sufficient knowledge/experience to comment?

Thanks.
Old 10-15-2016, 05:36 PM

I've been using electric, and acoustic amps by Carvin for more than 10 years with nothing but reliability and attentive customer support.
Old 10-15-2016, 06:14 PM

Carvin acoustic guitars are very well made. My cedar-top nylon crossover has been going strong for many years. Their electric T series is beautiful. I can't find too many negative comments about their guitars. Amps, I know nothing about, but I lean toward the positive due to experience with their guitars.
Old 10-15-2016, 06:33 PM

Thirty years ago I had a bud who owned one of those "lawsuit" X100 1x12" oak-cab/cane-grille Boogie clones (should've grabbed one while they were still in production), and I've got an MB12 bass amp (the bass version of the AG300) myself - neither of us ever had any reliability problems...
Old 10-15-2016, 06:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfa View Post
In researching an amp purchase, I've come across a couple of folks saying that Carvin's manufacturing quality (as opposed to audio quality) is lousy. If accurate, that big negative would be compounded by their direct to consumer marketing setup (no dealers for repairs). Does anyone have sufficient knowledge/experience to comment?

Thanks.
I've heard of two bass amps that a close friend bought that failed shortly after delivery. Alternately, I've bought some of their PAF style humbucking pickups with the double pole pieces and they were of good quality.