The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 03-20-2017, 07:21 AM

Default First electric advice

So I've been playing acoustic for several years and am wanting to get into electric. I play a lot of pop, modern county, worship music at church, I like a lot of John Mayer stuff. I can't decide what guitar would do the most things well. Kind have it down to a fender tele or Les Paul style. Im not opposed to alternatives such as Epiphone or PRS see or even other guitars. I know a lot of my sound will come from amp and effects but I want to get a guitar that's capable of what I want. I'll try and find some links for sound examples.

Electrics:
Warmoth Tele

Amps:
Blues Jr.
AC15HW
Old 03-20-2017, 07:29 AM

Intro to slow dancing in a burning room makes me think strat or tele
https://youtu.be/IfFi4Q7ueA8
I know this was done on a tele
https://youtu.be/LOdmkbmAzeE
I know tele's are versatile but I'm not a big fan of the characteristic twang..
The only reason I think Les Paul is maybe for thicker distortion when playing rythmn. And I have heard Les Pauls play clean stuff well too. So I'm not sure which is better for all around..

Electrics:
Warmoth Tele

Amps:
Blues Jr.
AC15HW
Old 03-20-2017, 07:40 AM

My favorite pickup configuration for a swiss army knife of guitars:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guita...%20HSH&index=1
Old 03-20-2017, 08:03 AM

Shaped like a Tele, but not exactly a Tele: G&L Tribute Bluesboy

This guitar is very well made and a great player with high quality hardware and components.

Fat, thick, warm Jazz & Classic Rock tones in the neck HB.
Middle position mimics a Strat and can do what a Strat does very well.
Bridge pickup gives you Classic Country Tele Twang.

You should try to give one a test drive before you buy something else, IMO.

Ibanez, Recording King, Gretsch, Martin
G&L, Squier, Orange (x 2),
Bugera, JBL, Soundcraft