The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-08-2014, 12:20 PM

Default Nut Width

Hi, all.

I have a decent tax refund coming my way and plan to use part of it to satisfy a severe attack of GAS. Excuse the newbie question, but how significant is the difference between a 1 11/16" nut and one that's 1 3/4"? By my math -- admittedly not very good -- that's a difference of 1/16" and seems negligible to me. I'm still learning to play, though, so maybe it's a bigger deal than I think it is?

Thanks for any input.
Old 03-08-2014, 12:29 PM
AGF Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by nellie View Post
Hi, all.

I have a decent tax refund coming my way and plan to use part of it to satisfy a severe attack of GAS. Excuse the newbie question, but how significant is the difference between a 1 11/16" nut and one that's 1 3/4"? By my math -- admittedly not very good -- that's a difference of 1/16" and seems negligible to me. I'm still learning to play, though, so maybe it's a bigger deal than I think it is?

Thanks for any input.
Nellie,
The only input you need is this: It's your hand that's going to be holding the neck. Just because your logical mind dismisses 1/16" as 'negligible' doesn't mean your hand/fingertips won't have something to say after you've spent your money.

Ignore them at your own peril, or waste more money.

HE
Old 03-08-2014, 12:50 PM

Default Nut width

The nut width is rarely the only difference. That 1/16" by itself is so slight it's hard to feel, but when added to other attributes, neck thickness, profile, set up, etc, it's the whole package that makes the difference.

Just my less than humble opinion.
Old 03-08-2014, 01:01 PM

Thanks for the responses. I never considered the neck profile, but it guess the wider nut could also mean wider string spacing along the entire fretboard to the saddle. Guess I'll have to play the different widths.