The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-14-2017, 08:42 AM

Default Few tips as a beginner

Hello, I am new to both this forum and playing the guitar.

I would like to learn Dreaming by Blondie and have found a version suitable for a novice on guitaretab.com . Its basically D, G, A and Bm and I am looking to play the first two verses and chorus.

A link to what I am trying to learn:

http://www.guitaretab.com/b/blondie/382292.html

Having issues with Bm so I have found a beginners equivalent using 3 fingers which doesnt sound right and searched for an alternative which is Bm7 again I dont think it sounds right.

I have pretty much mastered the chorus and first two lines of the first two verses getting better by the day with changing chords.

There is no strumming pattern, again happy with the chorus and first lines of the first two verses but not so sure about the second two lines.

Any tips or experience would be grateful

Thanks
Old 09-14-2017, 09:12 AM

What helped me tremendously with barre chords was learning the open chords without my first finger. It also helps with transitions up the neck. Once your muscle memory remembers those shapes a barre chord is nothing more than planting your first finger down which is free anyway
Old 09-14-2017, 09:19 AM

Thanks, I will give that a try tonight
Old 09-14-2017, 09:23 AM

This shape-- x 2 4 4 3 x gives you all the necessary notes of a Bm, but no barre. You'll miss that top F#, though.

Keep at it. Barre chords are one of those things...almost nobody can do them at first, and then, after time, almost everybody can.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 09-14-2017, 09:42 AM

No problem- also worth noting