The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-23-2015, 06:26 AM

Default Fingerstyle Playing Technique

Hey guys, I don't post much on here as im usually too busy playing! I am a self-taught fingerstyle player been playing on and off for years now. I always wonder about my technique, I've watched tutorials online and seem to play songs to a fairly good standard however I have a few questions. At the moment I am learning the fingerstyle version of "fly me to the moon" arranged by Bart Howard. In this piece I tend to let my thumb roll down the strings as I play the chords and will also use my thumb and fingers for the chords which are not on the corresponding strings (if that makes sense!). Is this considered bad technique? It sounds fine to me but I wonder if I could do with some lessons.. If you could give your input into how you would play it with the right hand i would kindly appreciate it. Here is the link http://www.songsterr.com/a/wsa/bart-...-tab-s388988t0
Old 07-23-2015, 06:58 AM

In that first chord in bar 1 there are 5 notes. Using your thumb to strum across all five strings seems to be your only option although as there is no glissando sign, as there is in bar 5, the strum should not be drawn out. The two chords in bar 2 could be picked the same way or with your thumb on the lowest note and a finger on each of the other three strings. If you don't use three fingers you are stuck with the first option.

The first chord in bar 6 has a 'separated' chord which I would pick with my thumb and two fingers but it could be played with thumb only if the fifth string is muted.

The whole point of the exercise is to make musical sounds. I would not bother to criticise any technique if the resulting sound is musical.
Old 07-23-2015, 07:09 AM