The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 12-12-2008, 07:26 PM

Default Help - Need new software

New computer runs Windows vista and my old recording software won't run on it. I have always used Cakewalk products and have some files I'd like to be able to keep using, but I also like the idea of having an all in one package like RealBand instead of having to create Band -in-a-box backing tracks separately and convert them to wav. Also, I want a program that can create harmony vocal tracks.

Anyone know which, if any, Cakewalk products include a harmonizer? Anyone know how capable the audio recording features of RealBand are?
Any suggestions for other programs-protools LE, Cubase, etc? I have no experience with these. I don't need the very best - my recordings are usually less than 10 tracks and not really complicated, and the only midi tracks are typically drums and BIAB backing - I'm not a keyboardist.

Thanks.

Last edited by ELK; 12-13-2008 at 06:43 AM.
Old 12-13-2008, 09:39 PM

Anybody? I could really use some input here. What programs are you using and why do you like them?
Old 12-14-2008, 05:42 AM
Tryin' to figure it out

I have no experience with BIAB-like products, however, if you are looking for a multi-tracker/sequencer, Reaper (http://www.reaper.fm) is definitely worth a look. Great tool, small footprint, and lots of features.

I also use Adobe Audition pretty heavily, but its MIDI capabilities are still coming up to snuff.
Old 12-18-2008, 08:13 AM