The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 10-08-2014, 08:59 AM

Default Severe Belt Buckle Rash

I've decided to take on this project of refinishing the back of my Takamine EN-10C acoustic. It has a mahogany back and some wear from my belt buckle that has broke through the lacquer and is exposing the bare wood. It has a satin gloss. I must admit I've never done this before but figure if I get the proper instruction I might be able to do a decent job refinishing this as I am meticulous when doing other projects.

If you have experience in this area I would love to hear your process, supplies I will need and of course your advice. This is a one time repair so I'm not looking into high costs or buying materials that I won't use again.

Thanks

Martin D-35 -1975
Martin HD-28V-2009
Martin OM-18 Authentic 1933
Martin 000-41 Custom Adi/EIR 2007
Martin OM-28 Marquis 2010
Bourgeois OM Custom 2012
Boucher BG-52, 2018
Gibson J-45-2013
Taylor 414ce-L30-2004
Taylor 322e-12 fret-2017
Dobro Model 60-DS - 1975

Last edited by The Saint; 10-08-2014 at 09:14 AM. Reason: Add Pic
Old 10-08-2014, 09:14 AM

My advice is, "Don't".

It will be waaaaay more work than you can imagine and the chances of it looking even remotely "professional" are slim. I'm not casting doubts regarding your abilities, just that high quality finishing work is an art unto itself and requires a fair bit of knowledge and experience to look like much more than slapping finish on with a paint brush.
Old 10-08-2014, 09:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles Tauber View Post
My advice is, "Don't".