The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 08-22-2016, 03:47 PM

Default An acoustic strummer gassing for an electric but . . .

Hi all.

So i have been playing acoustic for about three years now.
I love it and have manged to get a good few tunes sorted - strumming mainly with some attempts at finger style.
All sorts - CCR, Sting, Beck (not Jeff Beck) and currently really getting into some Paul Weller stuff.

So I have been gassing for a while for an electric, had a look around and found a combination which catches my eye. More on this later.

The thing is when I have a go on electric - to me it does not sound to good - just strumming and playing a bit of the stuff I know.
I like the cleaner not real hard rock and bluesy sort of sounds
My guy in the shop picks it up - play some scale stuff, riffs etc - sounds great.
Which is what I want to have a go at - minor pent over a backing tracks etc
Tried it with acoustics and it sounds a bit . . .plink plonk

I have to say it is slowing me down on pulling the triger. . . a bit.
Feels like I have got a lot to learn to adapt.

Not sure if I have a question or maybe just looking for some views from some of you experienced guys??

The guitar - Deusenberg Star Player Special in orange - looks and plays great. I love the finish and detail.
Amp - I live in an apartment so I am going to give a Yamaha Thr10c a go - can plug in my acoustic as well.
Anyone have any experience with these?

Regards

Steve
Old 08-22-2016, 04:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salzburg Steve View Post
...CCR, Sting, Beck (not Jeff Beck) and currently really getting into some Paul Weller stuff....
No experience with the Deusenberg, but given the music you like, I'd suggest a Rickenbacker guitar, perhaps a 330.
Old 08-22-2016, 05:23 PM

I'll repost my advice to another player in similar straits, with a few modifications: