The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-16-2014, 10:49 AM

Default Which electric??

Started a thread a few months back to get an idea of what I wanted to look for in an entry level electric setup. That thread helped point me in the right direction, but I still have a few questions. I've been playing my Seagull S6 Original for over 2 years now. And have gotten decently efficient at playing acoustic, IMO. But have been itching to get into electric. I'll be playing solely for myself, so keep that in mind. I'm into mostly 90's alternative music. Think Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains, Soundgarden, etc. I'm stuck between getting a tele and a strat, but I'm not sure which would best represent the type of music I'll most likely be playing with it. I'm deciding between the following:

Squier Strat
http://www.amazon.com/Squier-Fender-...r+stratocaster

Squier Tele
http://www.amazon.com/Squier-Fender-...ier+telecaster

I don't think a LP is what I'm looking for, but maybe I'm wrong? Whats the "main" difference between a Strat and a Tele? Sound? Playability? Versatility, etc.? As you can see I'm going the budget route with the guitar itself. If it's something I really get into I can always upgrade later, but even these entry level guitars may be all I'll ever need.

For the amp I've decided on a Fender Mustang 20amp 1 x 8". Good choice for just playing at home? I'll probably be headphoned up alot of the time as well.

Since this will be my first electric experience, what do I need to know hardware wise? I change my own strings on my Seagull and am having a bone saddle put in as we speak. Any upgrades I'll want/need to do to a Squier from the get go? How difficult is string changes? How about general maintenance?

Sorry for the lengthly post and so many question. Just trying to get my head wrapped around all of this before I pull the trigger. THANKS!!
Old 05-16-2014, 11:29 AM