The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 04-04-2013, 07:27 PM

Default Which recording package ?

I would like to fool around with some recording on my laptop. Was wondering if the PreSonus Audio Box would be a decent package. I just want to buy one time. I am not a professional nor expect to be . Just want something good enough that I wont want to upgrade. Please comment on what you like.
Old 04-05-2013, 01:05 AM

I have a Presonus Audioox USB and the full Studio One. I don't use either one. The Audiobox worked well IMO. It was worth the 70 bucks I spent. I use older MIDI hardware and Studio One wasn't a good fit for my gear. The basic SONAR made it much easier to map my MIDI devices. And I still use that for MIDI.

If you don't do MIDI or use soft synths, either one is fine.

Youtube

France (Film Musique & Fantomas)
---
Guitars: (2007) big Vietnamese archtop; (1997) Guild F65ce,
(1988) Guild D60, (1972) Guild D25, two other Vietnamese flat-tops and one classical.

Old 04-05-2013, 12:27 PM

Well, I finally was forced to buy some "real" recording equipment as my usb mic died. Being on a very strict $300 or less for everything (cables, stands, mics, interface - the only thing I already had was a pair of headphones) budget I went with an audiobox usb and the $70 mxl 990/991 mic pair.

The Audiobox is great for me (I'm new to recording so maybe I just don't know any better, but I'd like to keep it that way, it'll be cheaper). I can plug my electric guitar right in and jam to backing tracks. Or I can use the mics and record myself (accurately! gasp!). Since my only recording goals are to gauge my progress (for now) and (much MUCH later) post youtube videos), it's perfect for that. And it's teeny enough to be more or less portable! -I say more or less, because with mics/stands/cables that does become an awful lot of stuff and it would probably drain a laptop battery very quickly.