The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-05-2015, 10:15 AM
natebernstein natebernstein is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 40
Default Using multiple guitars live - multiple DIs?

Folks who use multiple acoustics on stage: Do you have separate DIs for each instrument? I would like to use a 12-string on a couple songs for my acoustic group (haven't bought it yet but looking at used Guild jumbos) and am concerned that the electronics/sound of that guitar would be different enough from the Martin GPCPA1 Plus I use on other songs that I'd want to adjust the EQ/other settings on my Baggs Para DI for the 12-string. And I don't want to delay the performance to do that. So I'm thinking of having a separate DI box to dedicate to the 12 string. Make sense? Other recommendations? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2015, 10:58 AM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,026
Default

I use a different PADI for each instrument (mostly for EQing and notching).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2015, 11:09 AM
sam.spoons sam.spoons is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 574
Default

I do both depending on the gig/band/situation, Even to the extent of playing my Epi Mandobird through my 18watt combo on occasion (maybe one or two tunes in an otherwise all electric set). Two of my giging acoustics are active (Fishman Rare Earth and B-Band) but my Selmer style has a surprisingly high output passive BigTone and my Loar F style mando a fairly low output Fishman bridge so sharing a DI with them can be problematic. The best answer is to use different channels and DIs if you can. Try the new guitar through the Baggs before shelling out though, you may be able to taylor the sound to something acceptable using the onboard pre, then it's just a matter of a lead with a Neutrik Silent jack at the guitar end and Robert is your relative.
__________________
Brian Eastwood Custom Acoustic (1981)
Rob Aylward Selmer Style (2010)
Emerald X7 OS Artisan (2014)
Mountain D45 (mid '80s)
Brian Eastwood ES175/L5
Gibson Les Paul Custom (1975)
Brian Eastwood '61 Strat
Bitsa Strat with P90s (my main electric)
The Loar F5 Mandolin,
Samick A4 Mandolin
Epiphone Mandobird
Brian Eastwood '51 P Bass
Giordano EUB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2015, 11:12 AM
ljguitar's Avatar
ljguitar ljguitar is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: wyoming
Posts: 36,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natebernstein View Post
Folks who use multiple acoustics on stage: Do you have separate DIs for each instrument? I would like to use a 12-string on a couple songs for my acoustic group (haven't bought it yet but looking at used Guild jumbos) and am concerned that the electronics/sound of that guitar would be different enough from the Martin GPCPA1 Plus I use on other songs that I'd want to adjust the EQ/other settings on my Baggs Para DI for the 12-string. And I don't want to delay the performance to do that. So I'm thinking of having a separate DI box to dedicate to the 12 string. Make sense? Other recommendations? Thanks!
Hi Nate B...
My preamp/blender has a mute button. I hit that and unplug, and switch.

Should I not have it, I'd just pre arrange with the sound Tech to mute me on the board. Takes 10 seconds during sound-check.



__________________
Larry J

Baby #01
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Full-size Full-Scale Baby #4

Larry's songs...

…Just because you've argued till a discussion turns silent doesn't mean you have convinced anyone…
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2015, 11:27 AM
Br1ck Br1ck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 2,284
Default

You are probably going to want either two separate devices or a two channel pre like the Grace Felix.

If you feel you don't need separate EQ, but just a volume balance, a unit like a RedEye Twin would be in order.

If your amp has enough EQ and two channels, you may need nothing.

It all depends on the guitars and the application.
__________________
1980 Martin M 36
1970 Guild D 35
1965 Epiphone Texan
2014 Martin 00 15 12 fret custom
Pono OP 30 D parlor
Pono OP12-30
Pono MT uke
Goldtone Paul Beard squareneck resophonic
Fluke tenor ukulele
Boatload of home rolled telecasters

"Shut up and play your guitar" Frank Zappa
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2015, 11:31 AM
rmp rmp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 365
Default

I'd suggest to look at the planet wave cables that have an interrupt button.


Personally I run a DI (a yamaha AG Stomp) that allows me to have a variety of presets that I can go to based on what guitar I use.

I have a 7 band EQ as well but I set that pretty much to work equally with all the guitars. Even my nylon string. the AG Stomp gives me all the variations I would need.
you can probably find one on eBay for real low bucks. (these were not cheap back in the day)... $400 bucks as I recall.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2015, 12:29 PM
Photojeep Photojeep is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 815
Default

Hi,
For two instruments, try an A/B switch. I use one made by Startouch and it works perfectly.

(It's in the lower right corner)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-06-2015, 07:24 AM
John Bartus John Bartus is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 118
Default

I have different images for my different guitars loaded into the user bank in my Fishman Aura Spectrum DI -- one device for multiple instruments, and it works very well.
__________________
John Bartus
Live From The Florida Keys!
www.johnbartus.com
My Breedlove Artist Page
johnbartus@johnbartus.com
Lots of cool Breedloves
Five amazing Aura-equipped Martins
One jumbo maple Guild 12-string
1979 Ovation Custom Balladeer
Old Yamaha 12-string
Alvarez classical
ToneDexter owner
Lots of Fender & Variax electrics
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2015, 02:47 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,026
Default

That is a very interesting solution. Do you only do it with guitars? Would it work with banjo and mandolin?

Edit: alas, a little googling reveals that this might not work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Bartus View Post
I have different images for my different guitars loaded into the user bank in my Fishman Aura Spectrum DI -- one device for multiple instruments, and it works very well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-06-2015, 03:52 PM
Vancebo Vancebo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Salem, Or.
Posts: 1,509
Default

Obviously this could be done in a myriad of different ways depending on your budget and needs. I only do one guitar at a time but if I were using multiple guitars it would be a given that I wouldn't want to fiddle with anything more than hitting a mute switch and switching guitars. Anything more would lose momentum unless you were gifted at filling in the dead spaces with gab. You may always have to end up tuning the next guitar again which would make it worse. I definitely wouldn't want to be fiddling with EQ.
__________________
Vancebo
Husband of One, Father of Two
Worship Leader, Music Teacher
Oregon Duck Fan
Guitars by: Taylor, R. Taylor, Collings, Goodall
Pickups by: Dazzo
Preamps by: Fire-Eye and Grace
Amps by: AER
Grateful
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-06-2015, 07:52 PM
John Bartus John Bartus is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 118
Default

The Aura Spectrum has a number of banjo and mandolin images in their Bluegrass image bank (with more, I believe, available in Aura Gallery imge software that comes with the Aura). So it could work well for what you need. Good luck in your search for your killer tone!
__________________
John Bartus
Live From The Florida Keys!
www.johnbartus.com
My Breedlove Artist Page
johnbartus@johnbartus.com
Lots of cool Breedloves
Five amazing Aura-equipped Martins
One jumbo maple Guild 12-string
1979 Ovation Custom Balladeer
Old Yamaha 12-string
Alvarez classical
ToneDexter owner
Lots of Fender & Variax electrics
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-06-2015, 08:35 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,026
Default

Thanks! I'm actually less interested in the imaging than I am in the idea that I could set up individual settings (EQ and gain) for individual instruments and just A/B/Y them into a single pedal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Bartus View Post
The Aura Spectrum has a number of banjo and mandolin images in their Bluegrass image bank (with more, I believe, available in Aura Gallery imge software that comes with the Aura). So it could work well for what you need. Good luck in your search for your killer tone!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-13-2015, 10:27 AM
natebernstein natebernstein is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photojeep View Post
Hi,
For two instruments, try an A/B switch. I use one made by Startouch and it works perfectly.

(It's in the lower right corner)
Thanks for this - reminds me that I probably will want to run the 12-string through the same pedalboard I use for my main acoustic. A/B switch or one of the mute-able cables would be the way to go in that case.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-13-2015, 11:28 AM
buzzardwhiskey buzzardwhiskey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,838
Default

There are a bunch of two channel DI-boxes out there (2 in's and 2 out's) so that you only need one metal box.
__________________
Website: http://www.buzzardwhiskey.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-13-2015, 11:44 AM
El Conquistador's Avatar
El Conquistador El Conquistador is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central California
Posts: 3,675
Default

The RedEye Twin might work well for you.
http://www.fire-eye.com/#red-eyepreamp

Steve
__________________
Still crazy after all these years.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=