The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 11-06-2014, 04:20 AM

Default First Ukulele advice

Hi all. I've been playing acoustic guitar for 40 years now. I like the idea of learning ukulele. But freely admit that I know absolutely nothing about them.
I've seen the various sizes of ukulele available, and am thinking that a Tenor might be a good first instrument for me? I have fairly large hands so think this size would be suitable.
I'm in the UK, so appreciate that my next question may be difficult to answer. I'm only looking at spending around £60/$90 on this first instrument, and I've seen brands such as Kala, Makala and Mahalo for sale over here. Are these brands ok for a starter uke?
Many thanks in advance for information and advice received
Ian

Last edited by Yanto; 11-06-2014 at 04:21 AM. Reason: Text removed
Old 11-06-2014, 04:28 AM

I'm more into tenors and concerts than sopranos. Sopranos for me are only for strumming, just my opinion. The longer scale helps a lot on the concerts and tenors. You'll also avoid all the cheap rubbish you get at the bottom end of sopranos.

Another brand you might like for that price is Brunswick

Have a look at the HMS store
Old 11-06-2014, 04:29 AM

Thanks. I've seen Brunswick models online under my budget. Seem ok
Old 11-06-2014, 05:22 AM

Last edited by sirwhale; 11-06-2014 at 05:25 AM. Reason: double post, rubbish internet connection
Old 11-06-2014, 06:14 AM

HMS store?
Old 11-07-2014, 09:58 AM

If 90 is all you can come up with, I'm going to predict your first uke will be a major disappointment, due in part to the probability that first guitar costing 90 dollars would also be. Hoping to get an acceptable one is truly like playing the lottery at that price. If you can part with a bit more, you could look at the new Gretsch offerings, I've been impressed with those.