The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-18-2017, 01:10 PM

Default The easy repair or the proper repair?

I have a inexpensive ($300) Yamaha acoustic that's come to me with a buldging, rolling bridge. Looking inside I see the bridge plate has broken through the string pin holes fully side to side. The braces are all still intact and solidly glued, the bridge is still solidly glued with no gapes, so I prefer to leave it alone and installed.

The proper fix I'm guessing is to replace the plate entirely...but is it worth all that trouble? He loves the guitar so I will fix it but I'm wondering if simply making a new bridge plate and glueing it solidly over the original would be enough. I have a $200 budget with a few other tweaks involved so I don't want to put too much time into this.

The belly bulge I'm going to address using the JBL bridge dr., I've never tried this before (I build only custom guitars and do minor repairs) but it seem like the ideal candidate to try. Thoughts?

Last edited by Redknuckles; 09-18-2017 at 06:52 PM.
Old 09-18-2017, 02:39 PM

I would go with the Plate Mate , after first wicking some glue into the cracks in the original bridge plate. (That crack often happens when someone drives in the bridge pins or oversized pins). http://www.stewmac.com/Luthier_Tools...late_Mate.html

How far you take this repair depends on how bad the bellying / rolling is. Some pictures would help. There may not be a real problem....
Old 09-18-2017, 03:38 PM

While I don't understand your guitar's problem or its origin, I've had experience with both Plate Mate (on a Taylor GC for prophylactic bridge plate preservation) and Bridge Doctor (on an old Japanese Martin knock-off for correcting belly bulge and maintaining structural integrity).

The Plate Mate significantly reduced the tone/volume on the Taylor, so I removed and returned it.