The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-28-2010, 02:12 PM

Default how to use Harmony GX-T for recording?

Firstly, I'm a complete newbie to recording.

I've only done basic 'dry' acoustic and vocal recording directly to Audacity. Nothing more.

I recently bought a Harmony GXT for live performance. However I really like the effects it offers and would love to use it for vocal effects, harmony and EQ for recording purposes.

Only I have no idea how to go about it and there is no explanation in the manual how to use the GXT for that purpose. I contacted customer service and they said its possible but I would need an 'external audio interface' - but, I have no idea what they meant by that and how it would help me use the GXT for recording..

Hence, could somebody enlighten me what they are referring toi and how I should go about it ??

Thanks a lot!

Recording Virgin.
The Pickers 43' Gibson LG-2, 09' Furch OM 32SM (custom) , 02' Martin J-40
The Beater 99' Cort Earth 100
What we do on weekends:
http://www.reverbnation.com/doubleshotprague
Old 08-28-2010, 05:11 PM

If you want to run it into a multitrack just use the xlr output on the xt into the channel you want to use. If you are using a computer then you need something like this to interface the output of the xt to the pc.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PodStuUX1/

It's easy....
Old 08-29-2010, 11:24 AM

How are you doing the vocal and acoustic guitar recording currently? If you're using a dynamic mic that takes an XLR cable, you can just go out of the outputs of the harmony G XT into wherever you were plugging your mic cable.