The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-28-2015, 11:46 AM

Default Practice

I'm a fingerstyle/classical guitarist. I play both classical and fingerstyle arrangments of pop songs like Beatles, Paul Simon, etc. The gigs I play are about two hours long and I pull from a current repertoire of about 80 pieces. I will play around 30 songs in a two hour set. I'm curious how other musicians keep up with their music. I try to play through all my stuff in about two days and also try to add new music from time to time. I sometimes wonder if it is neccessary to parctice all the pieces as frequently as I do but it gives me a more secure sence going into my gigs having practiced them all. To be honest I still have memory lapses during some of the songs and I know some need more work than others. Would love to get feedback on how others handle this issue. Memoy is a whole nother discussion
Old 09-28-2015, 11:58 AM

You are on the right track. My band has a 50 song set list plus a handful on a "parking lot" that are in progress, may be added or have been replaced by other songs. I play one or two sets each day and parking lot songs two or three times a week. When I hit a song that I don't play as well as others I play it three times. Songs that I've mastered get one play through.

I'm working on a side project of entirely different songs and usually set aside time each week to work on them.
Taylor 612ce (2001)
Taylor T5-C2 Koa (2007)
Ovation CS28P KOAB - Koa Burst (2017)
Paul Reed Smith 305 - Sunburst (2012)
Paul Reed Smith Custom 22 - Autumn Sky (2013)
Fender Classic Player 60s Strat - Sonic Blue (2012)
Roland Juno DS76 (2020)
Old 09-28-2015, 12:03 PM

Wish I could help...

I also wish I could play that many songs.

But I have almost two under my belt! I have all the chords down, just need to put it all together.
Old 09-28-2015, 12:25 PM