The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 10-28-2017, 02:17 PM

Default Acoustic electric volume questions

Though I’ve been playing acoustics for 30 years, I have almost no experience plugging them in.

This summer, I bought a Fender Mustang GT 40 and, because of the full range speakers, was pleasantly surprised at how good my $100 Rogue acoustic sounded through the Mustang’s basic Studio Preamp setting with some hall reverb (likely thanks to the Rogue’s pretty good Fishman pickup system).

But, the Rogue isn’t fun to play, and I’ve had my eye on a Taylor GS Mini natural (non-acoustic electric). So I bought one and added their ES Go pickup that’s made for it. But it is soooo quiet compared to the Rogue, I assume because it doesn’t have a preamp built in. It’s just a plug and play pickup.

QUESTION #1: How can I get more volume out of be GS Mini? I know nothing about preamp pedals. I also saw a Mooer “clean boost” pedal that I thought about trying, since it looks like it adds volume without gain. Is that a good idea? Or do I need a preamp pedal? I know I could also buy a Fender acoustic amp, but I want to see if I can solve this with the Mustang first.

QUESTION #2: I also purchased a GS Mini Bass, which has Taylor’s built-in ESB system. I know the Mustang isn’t a bass amp, and I am only playing softly at very low volumes so as not to damage the amp. But I have been surprised at how the volume is much lower in this guitar than the Rogue acoustic with the Fishman, even though the Taylor bass has a built-in preamp I believe (volume and tone control on the side of the guitar). Would a preamp or clean boost solve that too?

Thanks for any advice you can give me!

Last edited by Nolefinity; 10-28-2017 at 02:55 PM.
Old 10-28-2017, 03:30 PM