The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-01-2017, 03:10 PM

Default Do you rest your fingers on unused strings?

As a fingerstyle player do you rest your picking hand fingers on unused strings when playing? I tend to hover my hand above the strings at all times, but maybe this is wrong (self taught)?

I experimented with leaving any fingers not in use just resting on the string. I found I had better awareness of the strings and I was less likely to accidentally hit a wrong string. This in turn made me feel more confident.

I don't normally hit a wrong string, but I can occasionally graze other strings while playing. I don't anchor either, so maybe by resting unused fingers I'm in effect creating a temporary anchor? Wondering whether I should pursue this method, or if I'm wasting my time (I ask cus it's pretty hard to do on pieces using all strings, I have to think about resting certain finger during certain passages as I'm not used to it).
Old 03-01-2017, 04:03 PM
Charter Member

You can profit from now and then resting your picking hand finger or thumb on an unplayed string. It steadies the hand as well as help silence the unwanted ringing of certain strings. I do it in various situations - sometimes for example I will rest the thumb on the sixth or fifth string while doing scales with my fingers.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 03-01-2017, 04:06 PM

Fair enough, maybe I shouldn't get too fixated on it then, but use it where I feel I need the extra steadiness.
Old 03-01-2017, 04:12 PM