The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 09-17-2016, 06:54 PM
AGF Sponsor

Default Edwinson Eclipse OM- First Prototype of a New Model

Hello, everyone! It's been few weeks since I posted a build feature here, and now it's time to show you all what I've been up to lately. Wheels have been turning!
I decided to follow through with an urge I've had for awhile now, to create an all-new guitar model, in the OM size category. This has been the most popular guitar size in my lineup, represented by the Consort 000 guitar that I've been building since about 2005.

The new model is called the Edwinson Eclipse OM, or EE-OM. My intent here was to create a very modern, advanced, extremely customizable guitar, primarily optimized for modern fingerstyle playing idioms. I built the first one to be ultra-responsive and lively, and very comfortable to hold and play, with 25"- 25.75" multiscale architecture. All the signs point to success so far- the box sounds like a well-tuned Tabla drum now, with a loud, clear, focused note when you tap on it.

The top is a set of Sinker Western Red Cedar that was salvaged from a river in British Columbia; the back and sides are old-growth, mastergrade East Indian Rosewood. The bindings, bridge, fingerboard, bevels, and other appointments are Macassar Ebony. The neck is Honduran Mahogany with Maple and EIR center lams. The sound port on the upper bout, driver's side has a sliding hatch, so it can be played closed or open.

I just finished spraying the final top coat of lacquer on this Eclipse OM about an hour ago. But I wanted to share some photos of the guitar, "in the white". I will have the guitar all done, strung up, making music about mid-October.
Here are a few photos of the guitar, pre-finish, to start:

More photos and details shortly. Thanks for looking!
Old 09-17-2016, 07:22 PM