The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 07-26-2017, 09:42 AM

Default Others over Fender and Gibson

I thought I'd start a thread for folks to discuss why they chose other guitar brands over Fender and Gibson. There are enough threads that assume that everything is either Fender or Gibson, but this one is about other choices and the reasons people make them. My main electric has always been something else. Here's why:

I started playing in the mid-80s. Lost of the folks I listened to played Strats and Les Pauls, but there were others too -- Hamer, Jackson, etc... were pretty popular. My first good electric was a Martin E-18... I just kind of lucked into it. I found it to be better than most of what Fender and Gibson were putting out at the time. It has humbuckers and coil taps. Most importantly, it stays in tune -- something many Gibsons and Fenders of that period could not achieve. I could never understand why Gibson put such crappy tuners on such expensive instruments. It didn't bother me that nobody (and I mean no one) played Martin electrics at the time.

For my next guitar I wanted a whammy bar (who didn't). I went with a Carvin V220. 24 frets, humbuckers, coil taps, ebony finger board, locking tremolo (vs what came on Strats). It was just a better guitar... once again. I definitely didn't listen to anyone who was playing Carvin guitars at the time, but this became my main instrument for many of my early bands.

I would always pick up electric in music stores in those days. Even if I found a strat that could stay in tune, I just didn't like the feel of the maple fingerboard on most of them. I liked the feel of the Les Pauls, but never could justify the price vs limited features they offered on a poor man's wage.