The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 04-04-2010, 10:36 AM

Default Cheap acoustic guitar recording solutions?

I'm an acoustic guitarist, and looking to do some recording. At this point in time, I would only be recording acoustic guitar. I need some way of recording multiple tracks- not simultaneously though. I don't want to spend more then $500 to get some good gear to do this with

After doing some research, it seems to be the consensus that the Zoom H4 is the unit to beat. However, I'm also kind of curious if I couldn't just buy some software and a unit that can plug into my computer. Is there anything that plugs into a USB port, has an out for a microphone, and also for headphones so that I can listen to a track while I'm recording another one?

The main things that I'm really concerned about are recording quality, ease of use (Must record in some format like .WAV or .MP3 or something widespread like that I can easily upload onto the internet), and something that is easily compatible with recording software. I just don't know if a field recorder or some other sort of set up would be better, and also which would be more economical.
Old 04-04-2010, 11:03 AM

This device, a good microphone, recording software and a good headphone set is all you need.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...e_Pro_USB.html

Recording formats are determined by the software and the preferences you select. Audacity is a free but capable program for recording. It is available in PC and Mac versions although, if you have a Mac you might want to start out with GarageBand which Apple provides free of charge. GarageBand is easy enough to use that you can get surprisingly good results on your first or second try.
Old 04-04-2010, 11:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herb Hunter View Post
This device, a good microphone, recording software and a good headphone set is all you need.