The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-01-2010, 12:31 PM
Guest 2143

Default Recording in studio for 1st time - advice?

I have been performing live for a long time in duos without stepping foot inside a studio so this is going to be very foreign to me. Any tips/advice/suggestions for preparing before I go in or what to do/not do while I am there would be much appreciated. In case it matters, it will be me and a vocalist recording mostly prewar blues songs (Bessie Smith, Ida Cox, Memphis Minnie, Robert Johnson, John Hurt, etc.) and some originals. I will play an acoustic guitar and a resonator and provide minimal background vocals. My partner will only sing. Thanks for any help you might be able to provide - I really need it.
Old 03-01-2010, 12:50 PM
Guitar Gourmet

I'm a recording engineer who used to be in leadershiop here at the AGF. I built a whole site to answer questions for folks like you. Go HERE, navigate to frames, and select RECORDINMG TOPICS. The first item is "Hints for your first recording session." I hope you find something useful.

Bottled water and a camera. Remember that.

Bob

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM (my website)
Old 03-01-2010, 12:59 PM
Guest 2143

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Womack View Post
I'm a recording engineer who used to be in leadershiop here at the AGF. I built a whole site to answer questions for folks like you. Go HERE, navigate to frames, and select RECORDINMG TOPICS. The first item is "Hints for your first recording session." I hope you find something useful.

Bottled water and a camera. Remember that.

Bob
Thanks so much!
Old 03-01-2010, 01:15 PM
Guitar Gourmet

My pleasure!

Old 03-01-2010, 02:56 PM
Guest 2143

Quote:
My pleasure!