The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 08-24-2014, 08:03 AM

Default Software pedal/amp modelling

As mentioned http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...d.php?t=353639 I am totally new to electric guitars.

I do have a USB audio interface so I wondered if I could use this and some free/cheap software... Not to replace proper equipment but to at least get an idea what different effects and amps do so I can see which I like.

Any recommendations? I have Windows and Mac but previously only used Audacity to record stuff.
Old 08-24-2014, 01:48 PM

you already have garageband with your mac. great starting point.

play music!

2014 Martin 00015M
2009 Martin 0015M
2008 Martin HD28
2007 Martin 000-18GE
2006 Taylor 712
2006 Fender Parlor GDP100
1978 Fender F65
1968 Gibson B25-12N
Various Electrics
Old 08-24-2014, 02:09 PM

Actually I don't but I could. Isn't that more of a sequencing tool though?
Old 08-24-2014, 09:45 PM

unless you took it off, garageband comes free on macs.
it will record audio and midi, whichever you wish to do.

play music!

2014 Martin 00015M
2009 Martin 0015M
2008 Martin HD28
2007 Martin 000-18GE
2006 Taylor 712
1978 Fender F65
1968 Gibson B25-12N
Various Electrics
Old 08-25-2014, 06:14 AM

I had it originally but upgrading the OS it is no longer there and on iTunes wasn't free last time I checked.

How is recording my guitar the same as letting me model pedals and amps? I don't want the level of realism to let me compare Delay pedal X against delay pedal Y, merely to understand what different effects (and combinations) and amps do to my guitar's sound.

I have seen really fancy ones where you can pick specific pedals and chain them together all in software but I think that was expensive as it used real-world pedals you could buy the sounds of.