The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 12-01-2012, 01:29 AM

Default Can this Sigma ever play again?

I was rummaging through the garage and found my mom's 1980s Sigma GCS-3 (Korean made). The guitar holds sentimental value to her so spending a pretty penny on the guitar wouldn't be a problem although I know its market value is worth diddly squat. It definitely needs a nut, bridgepins, tuning machines, and a saddle. I'm new to guitar repairs but I'd give it a try as it seems like a fun project that's not too complex (correct me if I'm wrong).

I'm wondering how do I find a preslotted nut & a saddle that will fit since I don't have any information about the dimensions of the previous nut & saddle?

Last edited by Jusca; 12-01-2012 at 01:46 AM. Reason: added images
Old 12-01-2012, 10:18 AM

Hi Jusca. I thought someone would have answered by now but as no one has here's my thoughts. The first thing I'd check on a stripped guitar is whether or not it needs a neck reset. This is a simple check to do. You need a straight edge long enough to go from the fretboard to the bridge. 18" long should enough. Lay it on the frets and see where it meets the bridge. If the surface touching the frets is 1/8" or more below the top of the bridge it needs a reset. If it is just 1/8" it might be OK. If it needs a reset the action will be too high for most players so you may wish to reconsider about the restoration.

As to buying a ready made nut, nuts and saddles need to be made to fit. The best route would be to buy blanks and fit them yourself. there is lots of information on how to do this on a site called Frets.com.

If you feel confident with tools and DIY stuff you can do the saddle, nut and tuners but if not take it to a repairer and get a quote. If it needs a neck reset then that is a job for a professional.
Old 12-01-2012, 10:31 AM