The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 02-22-2015, 10:36 AM

Default Joe's Tune on my Tony Francis Weissenborn

This is the first tune I ever came up with on my Weissenborn guitar. I'm playing this in D tuning on my Tony Francis Weissenborn guitar. Hope you guys like it!

https://soundcloud.com/rob-anderlik/joes-tune
Old 02-27-2015, 07:36 PM

That was gorgeous. Beautiful song and sound. I just have been turned on to the Weissenborn through listening to Thomas Oliver. I want to learn how to play and want to get a pretty nice instrument to learn. I've been playing guitar, finger style, for many years and have found that a good instrument was 1) easier to learn to play, and 2) sounded so much better than a mediocre instrument, therefore I loved the sound and wanted to play more. Any suggestions on builders and prices? You can PM me if you would like. I know Tony Francis is one of if not the best builder, but don't know what prices he charges, or if any are even available. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you, Bruce
Old 02-28-2015, 06:17 AM

Hi Bruce:

Thanks man, I appreciate it! The guitar I'm playing in the video - a style 1 Tony Francis Weissenborn - sells for $3K and is -IMO - a really fair price, especially when you consider that the market for contemporary Weissenborn's ranges from the under $1K bracket which are mostly cheap imports - to $4K and up from the top builders - Tony Francis, Bear Creek and Asher Guitars. If $3K is too steep you may want to talk with Rance White at Lazy River Guitars. Rance builds a nice guitar and has carved out a niche in the $2K and under price range.