The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-09-2010, 06:51 AM

Default catalyzed urethane

Hi, it has been brought to my attention that soon there will be no more nitro allowed in the uk, thoughts on an alternative. catalyzed urethane?????

Alister Atkin
Old 07-09-2010, 07:18 AM
Charter Member

taylor uses poly, and so does yamaha. their finishes seem to be long lasting and look good, so i can't see dropping nitro as a huge problem.
Old 07-09-2010, 07:31 AM
AGF Sponsor

I have been using catalyzed urethane for the last 6 years and love the stuff. Unfortunately, it is no longer available from my supplier so I will be switching to catalyzed polyester. Both are great finishes with similar performance qualities. Polyester is marginally harder so you can expect more time behind the buffing wheel.

Last edited by Tim McKnight; 07-09-2010 at 07:44 AM.
Old 07-09-2010, 07:37 AM

"Poly" is a term that gets thrown around a lot. There are two very different finishes out there. Polyester resin (poly res) which is often referred to as UV finish. (though it is available in both Catalyzed and UV cured finish) The way it is cured has absolutely nothing to do with the finish. It's just the time it takes for the finish to be ready to ship. Thus someone like Taylor can't afford the time to let a finish gas out so they use UV cured Poly Res. It is a VERY hard finish. (too hard in my opinion) I think the hardness of the finish impedes the movement of the top.
The other "Poly" is polyurethane, which is what you asked about. That's the finish I use. I find it to be a wonderful finish. A little softer than poly res, which as I said before, is a good thing. It is not brittle as Nitro can be. And it's very repairable with CA drop fills. Just make sure you go with a good supplier as urethanes can be very different.
Old 07-10-2010, 04:43 AM

Default thanks guys