The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 12-12-2017, 06:02 AM

Default Listening list

I am new to the classics...I have been living in the folk, rock, pop world for years and have discovered the beauty of the classic solo guitar. Can you recommend additions to my classical solo guitar listening list. I have Segovia, Elliot Fisk, John Williams, Jullian Bream, Ana Vodovic.
Old 12-12-2017, 07:22 AM
Charter Member

That's a good list, although (blasphemy) I was never a big fan of Segovia.
Who comes to mind:
Manuel Barrueco (one of the best musical players there is imo, he can really make the guitar sing), David Russell, the lesser known and vastly underrated English guitarist John Mills.
I would also add in there 10 string guitar virtuoso Narciso Yepes.
If you're into the keyboard sonatas of Domenico Scarlatti transcribed for guitar, one of the best I've ever heard is Leo Brouwer, most notable as a composer, but a great player too.
Pepe Romero is looked up to by many established artists, and has taught many of them.
Andrew York, and his former LA guitar quartet, are all great players and musicians.
And I'd bet you would like Muriel Anderson. She also blends or fuses many styles on the nylon string guitar.
I'm sure I've left out many noteworthy players, but spend a bit of time on YouTube and you'll come across much lesser known names who are outstanding. Lots of bad ones too, but you can let your ear guide you!

Golf is pretty simple. It's just not that easy.
- Paul Azinger

"It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so."
– Mark Twain

http://www.youtube.com/user/Gitfiddlemann
Old 12-12-2017, 09:40 AM

Tatyana Ryzhkova is my current favorite.

Per-Olov Kingren plays some wonderful classical / Romantic pieces.
2011 Godin Jazz model archtop
Old 12-12-2017, 09:42 AM
Charter Member