The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 01-25-2016, 07:54 AM

Default To memorize or not to memorize, that is the question?

I play a regular 3 hour weekly gig at a local resturant. I'm a fingerstyle/classical guitarist that plays everything from classical to pop and everything inbetween. I have about 60 songs under my memory belt to some degree or another but I am alwasy trying to add new music. I do not play by ear so I am always getting music from somewhere. I find that trying to memorize the new stuff is getting more and more stressful. I am retired and this is just supposed to be fun for me. I find pros and cons to memorizing. On the pro side I don't have to drag out music sheets, on the negative side, I can have memory lapses in the middle of a song and that is frustrating. I find it also easier to currect songs I am playing from the sheet music were as once I have memorized a piece it is harder to go back and fix parts that are getting "muddy". I am actually memorizing the music even though I am still relying on the sheets but I have them for security I guess. Playing for 3 hours is a lot of music, and I try not to repeate and I want to continue to add. Would love to hear from some others on this topic. Thanks again for the input.
Old 01-25-2016, 08:55 AM

Having three hours of music under your fingertips from memory is quite a lot, congratulations!

I think different people have different capacities for the amount of music they can play from memory, so the answer to the question about reading vs memorizing will probably vary form person to person. As a general answer to the question, then, I would say memorize as much as you are comfortable with, and have scores for the rest.

Bottom line is you want your performance to be as enjoyable as possible both to yourself and to the audience, so do whatever it takes to accomplish that.
Old 01-25-2016, 09:47 AM