The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 08-19-2014, 05:28 PM

Default Cordoba C5 or C7?

Hello, I'm a steel-string fingerstyle guitar player looking to start classical. I've heard Cordoba makes some of the best guitars in the price range of $300-$500, and I'm mainly considering the C5 and C7.

Has anyone who has played both noticed a significant improvement in the C7? I'm trying to figure out if it's worth it. Ideally, I'd test them myself at a Guitar Center or something, but I'm currently abroad for the summer, and there aren't large music stores where I live anyway.

I'm also open to suggestions of other guitars in that price range. Please, nothing above $500. I'm just a poor college student, haha.

Thanks for your help!
Old 08-19-2014, 06:44 PM

C7 had definite advantage over c5. If you shop around though, you may be able to score a c9 for under $500... all solid construction, worth holding out for.
Yamaha FSX-5
Yamaha LS-TA
Yamaha CG-TA
Epiphone EJ-200SCE
Breedlove Wildwood Organic Concert
Hohner Essential Roots SOSB
Epiphone Houndog Roundneck
Dobro Model 29
Taylor 214ce-N
Cordoba C9 Spruce
1972 Pablo De La Cruz Classical
? Eusebio Huipe Cedar/PE Flamenco
Godin Multiac Duet Ambiance
Cordoba Stage
Old 08-24-2014, 06:53 PM

I've done well with "blems" on ebay-

Saved a lot of many on smaller Cordobas- a 7/8 Dolce, a 3/4 Protege and a 1/2 sized Requinto- all at 30 percent or more off retail- and with issues you could never much find if they didn't point them out-

each case may be different- but I've gambled a few times, and wasn't disappointed.

The C5 is a nice play- my Dolce an Requinto are both scaled down versions- mahogany vs. rosewood back and sides is a tough call-
mahogany always sounds fine to me-