The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-18-2017, 06:14 PM

Default Curt Mangan round core string opinions

Anyone tried these? I'm not sure how new they are. It I just noticed them. Big fan of their standard strings but am also a big fan of dr sunbeams which are round core. Thoughts???
Old 09-15-2017, 09:42 AM

Default Curt Mangan Round CORE

I've been experimenting with them on three guitars for a couple of months and they have become my current favorites. I prefer the sustain and feel of round cores and play them exclusively...TIs, Newtone MC, Pyramids. The Mangans more than hold their own with these others. Curt suggested I try the 80/20s which I have but I still think I prefer the PBs. Also the 80/20s seemed to tarnish very quickly.
I order directly and get them in a day since they come from only 200 miles away.
If you sign up on their website you'll get notifications of specials that come out about twice a month. The current one is free shipping until next week.
Old 09-15-2017, 10:30 AM

They are great on some guitars. I've been using Curt's strings for years.
Old 09-15-2017, 10:32 AM

I love Curt Mangan coated for my J45custom rw
Old 09-15-2017, 11:12 AM
Charter Member

I really like the Curt Mangan hex core med-lights, my go to string, so when the round cores came out I thought for sure I would like them and ordered 10 sets of mediums. These sound great for a few days, but then become unbalanced on both my guitars, with too much loss in the highs and high-meds. I didn't realize at the time that there were mediums and true-mediums and I should probably have tried the true-mediums or stayed with the lights and will likely try these again, but I now have a 1/2 dozen or more sets to get rid of.
Old 09-15-2017, 01:56 PM