The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 08-01-2017, 11:25 AM

Default Learning more than one thing at a time

I'm a 56 year old beginner and am just learning to change between simple cords. I have started an on-line course called Guitar tricks and it starts with very basic stuff. I know I need to get strumming, cord changes and all the basic's down to build from. My true love is fingerstyle blues. I picked up a Stephan Grossman beginners book and have been practicing the exercises leading up to the song Sugar Babe. Am I hurting myself by doing this as long as I keep up with the regular lessons?
Old 08-01-2017, 11:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert D View Post
I'm a 56 year old beginner and am just learning to change between simple cords. I have started an on-line course called Guitar tricks and it starts with very basic stuff. I know I need to get strumming, cord changes and all the basic's down to build from. My true love is fingerstyle blues. I picked up a Stephan Grossman beginners book and have been practicing the exercises leading up to the song Sugar Babe. Am I hurting myself by doing this as long as I keep up with the regular lessons?
I can't imagine any harm. I always post this as a great starting tune because it's a great tune, no "changes" and gives you something meaningful and enjoyable as a vehicle for putting in the tim necessary to get that thumb doing an alternating bass.

https://youtu.be/tx29hxvjPfk

Just put the ring finger of your fretting hand on the 6th string, 3rd fret G note and go...the melody is basically third fret notes on the E and B strings along with the open notes on them. There's one 1st fret note on the E and the occasional 2nd fret note on the D string as a tonal variation in the bass, but this is as simple and accessible a tune as there is. Still fun to play after 50 years...

Theory is the post mortem of Music.