The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-02-2013, 01:56 PM

Default How would I play this

I'm still relatively new to playing guitar, but I really want to learn this song, but I can't even pull of the first shape he does. I'm using this tutorial video. The shape is 4x644x with the thumb over the top, and first finger barring strings 2, 3 and 4 on the 4th fret, ring finger on the 6th fret of the A string. I keep moving between muting the string below the one my ring finger is fretting and not barring properly because I've had to move my hand to compensate.

I'm wondering if this is something that most guitarists can play easily, that can just be learned with enough practice, or if it's something only people with longer fingers can do?
Old 07-02-2013, 02:34 PM

You say you are relatively new to playing guitar. This isn't really beginners stuff. If you can recognise the chord names from the instructional video a preliminary step could be to learn to strum the basic chord sequence first and try to put in the hammer-ons later. It's not completely impossible but it will not be easy.
Old 07-02-2013, 08:47 PM

It's a G#m and you should just play it with another fingering. The fingering you've posted is skipping the D# on the fifth string because it's repeated again on the second string. So, play a regular G#m barre chord, place your ring finger on the fourth string and not your pinky as would be standard, and then "cheat" your ring finger over a little so it mutes the fifth string.

Like so:

(my middle and pinky fingers are tucked behind the neck so you can see the fretboard...you don't have to do that)

Also, if you're relatively new, I wouldn't attempt this yet.

Last edited by Diamond Dave; 07-02-2013 at 09:37 PM.
Old 07-03-2013, 03:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmachin View Post