The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-29-2013, 02:06 PM

Question Metronome Use

I am a 57 year old beginner and I have recently bought a Taylor GS Mini. After several months of unfocused practice on a mainly unplugged electric guitar the lovely sound of the acoustic has really boosted my interest. I have decided to try to learn fingerstyle and as I have trouble keeping regular timing when I practice I have just bought a Boss Digital Metronome. I would like advice on the slowest sensible BPM I should start on to allow me to change and finger chords cleanly while picking patterns. I know I'm never going to play on stage so I'm in no great hurry I just need to prove to myself that I am not totally incapable of learning to play. Though often frustrating I find holding my guitar and "practicing" very therapeutic.

Thanks for any advice.

Regards
Midge
Old 06-29-2013, 02:21 PM

The whole point of playing with a metronome is to stay in time with it - so set it as slow as you need to in order to do so with the particular exercise or piece.

When you get comfortable at that speed, try speeding it up - but if you can't keep up playing cleanly and in time then slow it back down.

Welcome to the forum!
Old 06-29-2013, 04:12 PM

If you're new to it, a little practice time may help. Start the nome, start your foot tapping with it, then run some quarter note scales on the beat. Next go for it with eighths up and down, maybe even do some cross picking patterns. Start slow. If you're flubbing, you're going to fast.
Old 06-29-2013, 05:47 PM

What i 've learned from my teachers : Start half speed of the actual speed of the song or exercise and slowly increase the speed. When you reach the actual speed of the song play it once in half speed and then perform it in actual speed. It works!
Old 06-30-2013, 07:11 AM

http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...1&postcount=10