The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-23-2013, 09:59 AM
Charter Member

Default Changing over to fingerstyle - how long?

I've been playing for several years, but on and off and I'm a hack at best. Recently (probably 4 months ago) started up an acoustic duo gig with my wife on vocals. We have been playing open mic nights for a couple months and having a ball.

I have always loved the sound of fingerstyle playing and dabbled just a little bit. I love the feel and connection you have with the guitar when playing with fingers. With a pick there is a disconnect there. I've been practicing more and more of our songs fingerstyle and now I'm at the point where I need to go one way or the other because the duality is causing me to make mistakes on both.

I want to go completely over to fingerstyle but I'm wondering about how long it will take to get there. There are a couple of problems I'm having with the amplified sound. Getting a good balance of tone when strumming with my thumb only means I have to turn up the volume but then I get those pesky notes when my nail (kept very short) picks up a string accidentally.

I know it's just a matter of time and dedication and everyone is different but I just wanted to get feedback from others that have gone this route and see how long it too you to make the change over, and are there any tips you can share that made things better I can try, or worse and I should avoid!

We only do this for fun and time is on our side. But patience isn't my strong suit. I practice alone probably 2 hours a day during the week and then the wife and I practice on weekends together. Some days it's great and I'm psyched and then the next day it will suck and I'll want to go back to the pick. But I know that will just be counter productive.
Old 06-23-2013, 12:01 PM