The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-17-2018, 10:34 AM

Default NUGD- Martin CS-GP-14

A few weeks ago, I acquired this guitar from forum member Galapogos17. First I have to say he was a fantastic seller and really took the time to talk to me about the instrument to make sure it would be a good fit. The guitar was everything he said it would be and its condition is basically flawless. I'm also blown away by his studio which is putting out some excellent recordings- http://www.honeytonemusic.com

I started learning guitar last fall and my main acoustic guitar has been a McPherson Sable. As I have been taking lessons and learning more about the guitar I felt like I needed a Martin. No particular reason other than as I learn about the guitar, I have come to see Martin as pretty special American company and I wanted to own a little bit of this Americana.

So what Martin to get? Obvious choices for a first Martin seemed to be a D-18 or D-28. When I started shopping however, I found the Dreadnought body size a bit larger than I like so I decided I wanted something larger than the Sable but not too much larger. I also decided to look for something a little out of the ordinary. Enter the CS-GP-14, a 2014 Custom Shop series in the Grand Performance body size.

One Man's Guitar has a review online. His reviews are far more educated and informative than anything I can say so I will focus mostly on what I like about the instrument

In no particular order: