The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-02-2018, 02:02 PM

Default right hand picking technique

Maybe for something like this, I should take a private lesson, but was wondering what you guys thought about some of the points discussed in this video. You can watch the whole thing, but I think these are the important parts.

1:54: Wrist angle
2:08 and 5:13 and 5:40: Fingers curled up and brushing the pick guard
2:36: Pick angle

I know there are different styles/techniques out there (especially floating vs touching/anchored), but was wondering if these are good things to learn if I am just beginning to explore the touching/anchored approach.

I think the part that was most revealing for me was on 2:08. And up to now, the way I anchor sometimes was like how he says you SHOULDN'T do at 5:40. So I will be working to fix that. Would agree I am taking away some good points from this video.
Old 03-02-2018, 02:18 PM

All perfectly rational and doable. Only exception I take is to the point about fingers touching the pick guard. Even in the video you can see how his hand has to stretch out to reach the bass strings. Many players lightly rest the wrist on the bridge pins, keep the fingers more curled, and use that for geo-location. I use my middle finger in many cases to support my pick grip so letting that dangle would compromise some grip and power.

A lot of what he says also is dependent on your pick grip. Many players use the "dirty diaper" grip and that necessitates some changes in angles and arch in the wrist.

Last edited by HHP; 03-02-2018 at 02:30 PM.
Old 03-02-2018, 02:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by HHP View Post