The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 11-04-2013, 11:07 PM

Smile Need help with tones and amp...

I've been playing acoustic guitars for about 12 years. About 10 years ago I bought a Squier SSS strat and a $100 Crate 15W amp and I thought I would get into playing electric guitars. However, I could never get the tones I wanted so I ended up selling the Squier and amp. About 4 years ago I decided to try again so I bought another electric guitar and a Line 6 modeling amp. After a few months of trying out, I still couldn't get the tones I wanted so I just gave up on electric guitars. Maybe I just didn't know how to play with the settings to get the guitar to sound like the songs on the radio.

Now I'm thinking about getting into electric guitars again (this time is serious...hopefully ) and I want to get a guitar, an amp, and some effect pedals but I don't know a thing about amps and effects.

Here are some tones I'm looking for:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nTHQKgiOn8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wl9Qxm_NHVI

Could you guys please give me some advice on how to get the guitar to sound like the videos above? What kind of amp and effects do I need to buy? As for the guitar, I'm thinking about something like Fender HSS Strat or telecaster. LP's are too heavy for me. My budget is $600. Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Serenade; 11-04-2013 at 11:10 PM. Reason: clarification
Old 11-05-2013, 06:26 AM