The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 10-22-2017, 03:06 PM
Charter Member

Default X7 with K&K pure mini amplified

What am I doing wrong? Admittedly, I am NOT a sound engineer. Not even close.

For 15 years my wife has played a Taylor 312 CE. We use a Fishman 2008 SoloAmp (before they changed the name to SA 220, but I think that it is the same amp).

I bought her an Emerald X5 a year ago. "Too small", she said. "No low end". So Alistair was kind enough (well aren't we all kind when we are well paid? Alistair IS very kind and patient with me, though) to build her a custom woody X7 with K&K pure mini. We tried it twice in a gig situation. The first time the X7 had a low frequency hum that I could not get rid of. So I bought a L.R. Baggs Para Acoustic DI with a notch filter. No more hum today. But at BOTH of the gigs that she played the X7 (different venues) the amplified X7 sounds like a tin can. Very muddy sound. The Taylor sounds MUCH BETTER through the SoloAmp with the same lack of expertise that I bring to the gig.

She says that the X7 sounds like a tin can NOT plugged in too. I beg to differ. I like the unplugged sound of both the X5 and the X7, ESPECIALLY the X7. And I don't even play steel string guitar, just nylon string.

She loves the size and ergonomics of the X7, and she likes the shorter scale. And we both agree that the X7 stays in tune better than her Taylor throughout the gig, especially when she uses a capo bar, especially when using the capo bar above the 5th fret.

With all the glowing reviews that I have heard of the X7, both amplified and not amplified, it is perfectly reasonable to believe that the poor quality sound is the fault of the sound man: Me.

Any suggestions to improve the amplified sound of the X7? Any suggestions for an alternative lightweight CF or non CF short scale instrument? Journey OFF660? (Did I get that right?)