The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-06-2010, 11:05 PM

Default Good news... and bad (?) news

First, the good news. A few days ago I responded to the thread about 2010 goals. I wrote that I wanted to get a small group of beginners like myself together in my home to jam informally for the purpose of improving our playing and having fun. I posted a short ad on craigslist and, to my utter surprise, got four positive responses within a single day.

Now the bad news. While we're all older middle-age like I specified in the ad (our ages range from 51 to 75), everyone described themselves as intermediate or advanced intermediate players. I'm a true beginner (about two years playing, all but the last six months self-taught). So now I'm afraid I'll be in over my head with these guys.

I'm excited about the opportunity but very apprehensive, particularly since I know absolutely nothing about jamming. I've never seen or participated in one. I did read some detailed posts here about bluegrass jamming but they only scared the crap out of me. So before I either chicken out or schedule the first session, I'd like to tap the collective wisdom of the experienced players on this forum.

1) How long should the sessions last?
2) Is it necessary to establish ground rules or just see how it goes? It's supposed to be fun, after all.
3) I mentioned I'd be providing pizza and drinks (beer and soft). Is that okay or a no-no?
4) I also mentioned we could start meeting at my place but it might be fun to rotate around every now and then. Is that pretty standard for this kind of thing?
5) Should I have anything prepared (music, tabs, lyrics, rules of etiquette) to pass out to the participants?
6) I'm so overwhelmed that I can't think of any more right now.

Your advice and encouragement will be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Will
Old 01-06-2010, 11:20 PM

Quote: